Our Staff

 GRD recognises that funding alone will not result in sustainable development

Galway Rural Development employs 52 people located at the main office in Athenry and outreach offices in Loughrea, Ballinasloe ,Tuam and Rosmuc.

Delia Colahan CEO:


Mary Claire Brennan Financial Administrator

Helen Gilligan Assistant Administrator:

Jean Greally Administrator Accounts

Fiona Langan SICAP Administrator

Eleanor Linden Secretary/Reception 

Nórah Ni Cheannabhain Admin/Reception Connemara (P/T)

Marie Hynes Data Input Officer

Anne Marie Doyle Administrative Officer

Social Inclusion Community Activation Programme:

Aoibheann McCann Team Leader

Freeda Garman Adult Education Officer

Clara Cashman Adult Education Officer

James Applegate  Youth  Development Officer

Elaine Quinn Education Officer

Donna Gleeson Ryan Training and Development Officer

Deirdre Maloney Employment Officer

Marie Finnerty Employment Officer

Nórah Ní Cheannabháin Employment Officer Connemara (P/T)

Deirdre Nic Dhonncha Employment & Enterprise Officer Connemara

Michael Burke Back to Work Enterprise Officer

Martin Macdonald Employer Liaison Officer

Patricia Kelly Social Enterprise Officer

Melinda Coen Ryan Community Development Officer

Mairead Carney Community Development Officer

Mícheal Mac Donnchadha Development Officer Connemara

Sue Clarke Information Officer


Conor Carty Programme Manager

Brian Killian  Programme Officer

Clare Conroy Programme Officer

Joe Curran Programme Officer

Frank Keane Programme Officer

Rural Social Scheme & TÚS:

Sean Broderick RSS & TÚS Co-ordinator

Martina Caulfield RSS & TÚS Administrator

Sinead Cox/Emily Hughes RSS & TÚS Administrators

Niamh Divilly  RSS & TÚS Co-ordinating Supervisor  &  RSS Dunmore/Milltown  

Liz Macdonald RSS  Ballinasloe & District

Kathleen Cannon RSS  Galway Central

Martin Collins RSS  South East Galway

Martin Donnellan RSS  Kilconly/Headford

Joe Kenny RSS  Belclare/Caherlistrane

Sean Larkin RSS Sliabh Aughty

Michael Stapleton RSS  North East Galway

Ita Kenny RSS  St Brendans

John Ashton TÚS  Portumna/Woodford

Joleene Cummins Loughrea & District

Yvonne Hoary   TÚS  Portumna/Ballinasloe

Jarlath Byrne TÚS  South Galway

Joseph Shevlin TÚS  Tuam

Linda Cummins TÚS  Ballinasloe

Michelle  Burke TÚS  Athenry Area

Julie McGrath TÚS  Oranmore/Turloughmore

Pat McGrath TÚS  North East Galway Area

Geraldine O' Donoghue TÚS  North Galway

Paul Sexton TÚS  Mountbellew Area

Community Employment Scheme:

Mary Feeney CE Superviser

Welcome to the Galway Rural Development website. Galway Rural Development, through the programmes we administer, will continue to work along with other agencies, groups and individuals around the county to improve the quality of life for all citizens in our area. We especially wish to work with those who are most in need of assistance, to provide real opportunities for people to gain significant improvements for themselves and their communities throughout rural Galway.

Funded by the Department of Rural and Community Development and the Department of Employment Affairs and Social Protection.